A Real Review of Sam's Club Simply Right Premium Diapers and Wipes

The Search for an Affordable, Cheap, but Quality Diaper

Front of size 3 Simply Right diapers.
Front of size 3 Simply Right diapers. | Source

When my husband lost his job, I started once more on the long journey of finding an inexpensive diaper that would do what I needed it to do.

I had been through this once before when my daughter, now five years old, was still in diapers. Back then the Member's Mark diapers (now Simply Right) just did not do the job. After some experimenting, I found what did. So when my son was born, I knew from the start I was going to use my favorite Pampers Swaddlers and then move to the Cruisers. However, for some reason my wonderful baby who slept through the night was also leaking out of his Cruisers, so back on the diaper search I went.

I tried the Pampers Baby Dry, but that didn't work. Then I heard about Jessica Alba's new brand The Honest Company and immediately jumped on her bandwagon to try out her diapers. I was in LOVE. Even though they were more expensive than the Cruisers, I knew I was getting a chemical-free and environmentally friendly diaper, which made the extra pennies worth it.

That's when our nightmare happened, and my husband lost his job. Knowing that my budget of $100 a month for diapers and wipes would have to dwindle down to $50, I began the search again.

I had heard that Member's Mark had redone its baby care line (rebranding as Simply Right), so I decided to give its diapers another try. I got a one-month supply of diapers plus a two-month supply of wipes for under $50 (prices vary by store). This is my review of the Simply Right diapers and wipes versus the expensive brands I loved.

The Diaper

Back of size 3 Simply Right diapers.
Back of size 3 Simply Right diapers. | Source
Simply Right
Pampers Cruisers
Honest Co.
Cost Per Diaper for Size 3 (Prices May Vary)
Cute zoo design
Adorable Cookie Monster face and polka dots
An assortment of patterns, from geo tribal or airplane cammo to anchors or chevrons
Visible Through Clothing?
Probably depends on the pattern, but overall: no
Not soft on the outside
Super soft on the outside
More absorbent; pull tabs are bigger, making them harder for babies to undo
Contents of a full diaper will soak through, making clothes soggy
More absorbent
A quick comparison of diapers by Simply Right, Pampers Cruisers, and Honest Co.

My Review of the Simply Right Diapers Compared to Pampers Cruisers and Honest Co.

In short:

Because I'm looking for affordability, the Simply Right diapers are the best option. They are very absorbent, and my baby is comfortable and cannot pull them off.

If money were no object, I would opt for Honest Co. diapers, because they are fitted, adorable, and environmentally friendly.

In detail:

After purchasing the box of size 3 Simply Right diapers and wipes, I was very skeptical. I had tried these five years ago, and they were just a disaster. I would only use them as a very last resort, but the price was good, so here I was, anxiously taking them out of the box.

First, I wanted to see what other people were saying about these diapers, but the only reviews I could find were a few on the Sam's Club website and a few more from bloggers who sounded like they had received free samples or a small paycheck to write a review. The reviews on were really mixed, and it seemed that people either loved them or hated them, with no in-between.

I was pleasantly surprised when I opened the box to see the cute zoo design and very happy that the main part of the diaper was white. That was one of my complaints about the Pampers Cruisers—even though the big Cookie Monster face and polka dots were adorable, you could easily see the diaper's design through clothes. The Simply Right diapers are not super soft on the outside like the Cruisers, but when they are full they don't get the baby's clothes soggy like the Cruisers do—another complaint I had about the Cruisers. On the inside, the diaper is very soft and white. As for the pull tabs, they are a little bit bigger than other brands, they stick very well, and even my hulk of son cannot undo them while on the changing table. I love that they are more absorbent than the Cruisers, just like the Honest Co. diapers, and I am not having as many poo blow-outs either. However, they are not as fitted as the Pampers/Luvs brand. He does seems to be comfortable in these diapers, but then again, he really never complains about anything. We are so blessed to have such a happy baby.

I will say that I still like the Honest Co. diapers better and wish we could still afford them, but for the money, I will probably stay with the Simply Right diapers until we get back on track. These are a great alternative, and if you are a frugal person who does not care about brand names, these are at least worth a try. While not everyone will love them, I 100% recommend these to anyone on a tight budget.

The Wipes

Simply Right wipes have easy-to-close packaging.
Simply Right wipes have easy-to-close packaging. | Source
Simply Right
Pampers Sensitive
Honest Co.
Cost Per Wipe (Prices May Vary)
$0.07, or free with diapers purchase
Easy to close and well-sealed top
Comes in various packages
Easy-to-close opening
Comes in various packages
Doesn't close well, hard to get out
Thick, soft, and perfectly sized
Thin, smell weird
A quick comparison of wipes by Simply Right, Huggies, Lasinoh, Pampers, and Honest Co.

My Review of the Simply Right Wipes Compared to Huggies, Lasinoh, Pampers Sensitive, and Honest Co.

In short:

Again, for the price, Simply Right wipes were the best option. They are still thick and have soothing lanolin and good packaging.

If price were no object, I would recommend Lasinoh wipes. They also have lanolin, but use a different type of alcohol.

In detail:

With my first baby I used only Huggies wipes, because they were so thick, soft, and perfectly sized. We had previously tried Pampers and Member's Mark (now Simply Right) brands but they felt thin and had a weird chemical smell to them. With this baby, we started out with the Huggies again.

I loved them until my little one began getting bad diaper rashes because of my breast milk, and at that point, I switched to the Lasinoh brand wipes. They are amazing, partially because they have lanolin. Lanolin, a natural, oily substance made from sheep's wool, helps sooth skin (and can also be used for cracked nipples), so these wipes not only clean, but also help repair babies' skin. With my baby getting rashes so bad they bled, these wipes were a must. But at $3 or more for one small package, they were not an affordable option to keep using all the time.

So, knowing that the Huggies were too harsh, I tried Pampers Sensitive. To my surprise, they were completely different than the ones I was using five years ago. They are really thick and have a nice soft scent to them (even though it says unscented). We have been using Pampers since the baby was about two months old, and we love them.

When I switched to the Honest Co. diapers, they came with wipes. First off on the Honest Co. wipes, the packaging is horrible. All you have to close the package with is a little stick tab. Furthermore, the wipes are not connected, so to pull out each one, you have to stick your big fingers in the hole and fish around. Then the wipe itself is thin, smells weird, and just doesn't get the job done. I did not like these wipes at all, so we continued to buy the Pampers wipes even though we were getting the Honest Co. wipes free.

When costs forced me to switch to the Simply Right wipes, I again was hesitant. Five years ago, they were horrible, much like the Honest Co. wipes. I remembered the poor packaging and thin wipes. But when I opened the box, I immediately saw that the packaging was different. It now has a nice top that springs open when you push it, then seals tight when you close it. The wipes themselves are much softer now as well. And to top it all off, when I read the ingredients, I was very surprised to see that these wipes also contains lanolin, just like the Lansinoh. The only negative was that it also contains a type of alcohol for cleaning that, while reasonable, can sometimes be harsh on a baby's bottom.

So overall, for the price, once more the Simply Right product was a winner. I recommend them to anyone looking to stay thrifty, although they are not my first or even second choice for wipes. They are good for now and great to use as your travel wipes since the packaging is so convenient and easy to throw away when you are done.

The ingredients include lanolin.
The ingredients include lanolin. | Source

Rate the Diapers

3.4 out of 5 stars from 67 ratings of Simply Right Diapers

Your Opinion: Diapers

Which brand is your go-to for diapers?

  • Simply Right
  • Pampers Cruisers
  • Honest Co.
  • Other
See results without voting

Your Opinion: Wipes

Which brand is your go-to for wipes?

  • Simply Right
  • Huggies
  • Lasinoh
  • Pampers Sensitive
  • Honest Co.
  • Other
See results without voting

Comments 30 comments

Care Bear profile image

Care Bear 4 years ago from Idaho

I've found that Parent's Choice brand diapers and wipes (at Wal-Mart) another good alternative. I don't really care about brand name and do try to live more frugally, plus, the Huggies I tried I actually didn't even care for. So, we use Parent's Choice and only pay 14 cents/diaper (size 3) and (if I did my math right), only about 1 cent/wipe. The wipes are similar to Huggies brand and you can get them scented or unscented.

Thanks for the review!

lovelifehappiness profile image

lovelifehappiness 4 years ago from Norman, OK Author

Good to know Care Bear!! The Simply Right wipes are about 2 cents a wipe (probably paying extra for the lanolin) and the diapers are 14 cents a diaper also. I have not tried the parents choice in 5 years, but I will be sure to give them a try so I can compare.

lovelifehappiness profile image

lovelifehappiness 4 years ago from Norman, OK Author

Sorry it is 1.6 cents per wipe!!

Care Bear profile image

Care Bear 4 years ago from Idaho

Ok! Good to know. :) We have a Wal-Mart closer, so that's just what we do. :) Also, the Parent's Choice wipes have lanolin as well! I was curious and looked, and, sure enough, there's lanolin in them.

lovelifehappiness profile image

lovelifehappiness 4 years ago from Norman, OK Author

That is awesome and many people do not have a Sam's Club membership so it is nice to know where else you can get the same deal. I will also go buy a pack of Parents choice in each and compare them to Simply Right so others can tell. It is very possible that they are the same, since Wal-Mart and Sam's are pretty much the same company.

Ky32 4 years ago

I have a Sams memebership and Bjs, I have been using Luvs size 3s BUT they are not the diapers they use to be when barney was on them in 2000-2002 then blues clues in 2003 and my 3rd in 2007 I have had leak after leak and I am not happy about them anymore so I am looking for something else. I do like Pampers Baby dry but we all know they are costly, huggies leaked with all 4 of mine, Parent choice was awful 12 years ago but they have come along way they where ok on my 4th, target diapers leaked, Bjs brand broke my 4th out so I am thinking of trying simply Right they look VERY adorable but I have to be careful with my sons skin. Do you know if Sams would take back an open box of diapers if they end up leaking or breaking my son out? Do they have any sent to them? Thanks for writing the review also I think I will give them a try after I get rid of these two HUGE boxes of Luvs.

lovelifehappiness profile image

lovelifehappiness 4 years ago from Norman, OK Author

I am so sorry it took me so long to reply, I didn't get a notice that I had comment or I over looked it.

Yes they have a money back guarantee for members so rest assured if they don't work you can get your money back. And I noticed today that my local club sells these cheaper than the online price so I was getting the size for 13.7 cents. I have now moved up to the 4's and I am still a loyal customer. I did try the parent's choice (they were nice) and looked into the other brands (including munchkin) when we moved up to 4's and Simply Right won again. We still love them!!!

Care Bear profile image

Care Bear 4 years ago from Idaho

I know it's been a while now that this post has been up and commented on, but I recently realized: I can make my own baby wipes! Much cheaper than buying them, and you get to choose your scent! Just cut a roll of paper towels in half and take out the cardboard roll. Boil 2 cups water and let cool to room temp. Put water into airtight container and add 2 TBS baby oil and 1 TBS baby wash or shampoo. Put the paper towels in, close the lid, and let it sit until all the liquid is absorbed, then turn it upside down for 10 minutes and voila! Baby wipes! I would bet that you could also put lanolin or some kind of lotion in them, too--you'd have to either look online or experiment. But it's a great money-saver for sure!

baby diapers 3 years ago

"I am very happy to read your articles it’s very useful for me,

and I am completely satisfied with your website.

All comments and articles are very useful and very good.

Your blog is very attention-grabbing. I am loving all of the in.

turn you are sharing with each one!….

Bachman Army wife 3 years ago

My husband and I both hate the SAMs club brand , we are also on a tight budget but these diapers are not the way to save. These diapers don't hold anything through the night we have tried two or three but every morning we have to change our daughters pjs. They leak but we also understand that ever child is different. The members mark formula on the other hand is worth it's weight in gold, we suggest it very much.

Sheila 3 years ago

I use the Simply Right from Sam's on my 1 year old son. They are wonderful except they do leak at night depending on how much baby has to drink at bedtime and throughout the night. I've learned to out him down with less to drink and if he wakes he gets just a couple ounces! Other than that, wonderful feel and fit!!

Bridgette 3 years ago

We've been using simply right diapers on our lil one for a few months now, and we've loved them. However I just recently picked up my first pack of size 4 simply right diapers and they are absolutely terrible! I don't know if they changed the diaper when they changed the packaging, but these are super thin and plastic-y on the outside. They are nothing at all like the diapers we've used from them before. Completely disappointed!

Richard Wad 3 years ago

Bridgette is right, Sam's changed something in the diapers. They are really garbage now.We noticed they were thinner and looked different and felt lighter in the latest batch from Sam's. Our child fills up the diaper completely now overnight when she never used to before.

We gave it a chance and after a week it is very clear the simply right diapers have been changed for the worse, but no such advertisement was made regarding the change and the price stayed the same.

I'm on my way to Sam's now to return them for a refund.

lovelifehappiness profile image

lovelifehappiness 3 years ago from Norman, OK Author

I have not purchased these diapers since Christmas and I have been using the Parents choice that was suggested on here. The are about the same price (like .5 cents cheaper) but Walmart is much closer to my house and when I got in a bind and couldn't run to Sams I bought the parents choice. I love these just as much as the Simply Right (the ones from 8 months ago). I was unaware that Sams changed their diapers. Guess it is time to update this article.

BOGOBabies profile image

BOGOBabies 3 years ago from Florida

My mom received a sample of the Sam's Club diapers and wipes in the mail and gave them to me to try. I was shocked that I absolutely LOVE them. They are more absorbent and a better fit than some of the name brands I had tried. (I was using Pampers all the time, but with twins that became very expensive.) I would definitely recommend this brand to any and all friends. (The wipes are nice, but not quite as soft as Pampers. So if someone has a very sensitive bottom, I would recommend paying the extra few cents for those.)

Marie Coe 3 years ago

Just fair warning, I used to like the sam's club brand diapers until my son got a horrible rash that has only shown signs of clearing when I took him out of thos diapers, also am suspcious they changed something. Sam's club and Parents choice may be similar since they because they are rooted in a similar company. You finda lot of 'simply right' at both stores.

Txmom 2 years ago

Parents choice are junk compared to the sams club (simply right) I second the honest company is the best by far but for Half the cost of honest $79.95 a you said you can get 2 months worth of diapers and wipes ! By far best value around! If you have to go the Walmart route id stick with luvs diapers, I think the parents choice wipes are comparable although much thinner than the sams premium wipes

Baby Diapers Online 2 years ago

I am very happy to read your articles it’s very useful for me, 

and I am completely satisfied with your website. 

All comments and articles are very useful and very good.

Your blog is very attention-grabbing. I am loving all of the in.

turn you are sharing with each one!….

NickyB 2 years ago

I hate parents choice they are no compare to simply right

kc 2 years ago

The diapers are horrible and wouldn't recommend them to anyone. And you know what they say you get what you pay for! Leak after leak and a whole lot of laundry I WILL NEVER BUY THESE DIAPERS AGAIN

Ernesto 2 years ago


karina alonso 2 years ago

I don' like a this diaper because I buy to save money but my kids have allergy after used...

lovelifehappiness profile image

lovelifehappiness 2 years ago from Norman, OK Author

hello, and thank you all for your comments. here we are a few years later and I am still loving the diapers. of course I still like the honest company and other organic friends much better but I cannot afford them. I still like the simply right brand over Walmart or Target store brands and for the price you can't go wrong. As for most diapers they will work great on some children and not so good on others each child is different and each child has a different shape of bum. Unfortunately I can no longer recommend the simply right wipes. Up until a few weeks ago I was still using them as well and I have an in home daycare and I was using them on my in home daycare children also. But since they were recalled due to some bacteria that could have possibly contaminated the wipes, I have startedusing babyganics wipes. I do not care for the snow that much of these wipes but other than that they are amazing very very low toxicity plant based and the price is not too bad compared to other organic wipes.

Baby Diapers Online 23 months ago

This is a great article. I’ve read in many

other places before that but

I did not get this type of effective and

more useful text. It is really important now to

vary your anchors as this seems more natural to user.

This article helped me a lot to understand information

okiemom 22 months ago

I know it depends on the child, but the Simply Right Premium Diapers from Sam's were a really good buy and they worked GREAT for my son.. I bought a package about 2 months ago and now I can't find any at any of the Sam's clubs in OKC. I realize the wipes are recalled(i never tried them anyway) but what about the diapers? Anyone know of a place I can still get the Simply Right Diapers online or elsewhere?!

Anna 22 months ago

Okiemom, they recalled the diapers because there was a sample pack of the wipes included. I was frustrated and hoped they'd be back on the shelf soon. Just this week we were back at SAMs and they had Member's Mark diapers on the shelf. I was fairy sure that they probably just repackaged and rebranded after the recall so we bought a pack. They ARE the Simply Right diapers just rebranded. So glad they are back!

Alyssa 22 months ago

Anna, are you sure they are the same? I bought a pack yesterday and was so excited to see them back! Today, I used one for the first time, and it is so thin and stiff! I have one size 4 diaper leftover from my eldest whom we potty trained this year, and when I compared the two, the new one seemed like a completely different brand in feel.

I'm skeptical about how the day will go, and hoping that these are my beloved Member's Mark diapers. It took me a long time to find the perfect diaper and I'd hate to have to start my search all over again.

Anna 22 months ago


I'm in Texas so maybe that makes a difference? I have a pack of size 5 Simply Right from before recall and bought size 4 Member's Mark recently. They are the same for us. Hope the ones you got work for you!

19 months ago

Can anyone comment on the thickness of sam's wipes? Parents choice are the thickness I prefer. Same with huggies one and done. Pampers and target brand are too thin. So before I buy a huge amount of sam's wipes I need to find out if they are thick enough....

Arin 14 months ago

I love simply right diapers and wipes. Even if they were the most expensive I would buy them! They are the only brand my babies didn't get rashes from or have leaks and blowouts in. They are very similar to the parents choice from Walmart.

    Sign in or sign up and post using a HubPages Network account.

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No HTML is allowed in comments, but URLs will be hyperlinked. Comments are not for promoting your articles or other sites.

    Click to Rate This Article